First Weekend Filming The Shadows of Hope

My friend hooked me up with another film project – The Shadows of Hope (check out and like their Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/TheShadowsOfHope). She got me doing some more behind the scenes (BTS) photography. It was another opportunity I couldn’t say no to. The film is about a girl (Kayla) whose parents split up, and then later down the road she is diagnosed with an illness. The film is also doubling as a project where high school students are brought in to show them how film making works and giving them hands-on experience.

I arrive at the set on Saturday morning and realized I was going to supervise the audio department AND do BTS photography. I’ve briefly done audio on another film project, but most of my audio experience have been in a studio/live concert environment. So off I went – teaching the students how recording sound works and all that fun stuff… To be honest, at first I was pretty nervous about teaching, but as I got into it, I was blown away by their enthusiasm and their ability to catch on so quickly. By the end of the day, I was able to fully trust them in recording audio. It was great! And on top of it all, the director, cast, and crew were an amazing group of people to work with!

So here are some of the pictures from the first weekend of filming. All of the locations were from the University of Victoria. The first place we went was Finnerty Gardens.

Now we headed back to the MacLaurin building to do the rest of the shooting. We spent a lot of time filming the living room scene. We had to slot a day and a half for it.

More pictures to come!! If you want to see more pictures, info, etc, check out and LIKE the project here: https://www.facebook.com/TheShadowsOfHope

Leave a Reply

