My New Baby!!

For the past little while, I’ve been thinking about buying a new guitar. I’ve had my Ibanez GRX40 for 10+ years, and the more I played it, the more I didn’t like the sound. It was really hard to find the “perfect” guitar as I’ve become pretty picky about everything – the sound, the brand, the style, and the looks. I wanted something with humbuckers and a semi-hollow body. I’ve looked at Fender, Ibanez, PRS, Gretsch, Gibson, and a bunch more, but there was always something I didn’t like about it (most of the time is was the way part of the guitar looked). I was starting to lose hope, but then I decided to check out the Grestch line again, and I found this.

A Gretsch Power Jet. It looked amazing, had awesome electronics, chambered body, and it had a Bigsby vibrato tailpiece. The more I looked at it, the more I knew it was the one! The only problem was the price tag… I went to Long & McQuade to try out this guitar, and the first chord I strummed, I fell in love with it right away. She was perfect. I decided to try out the $700 version (the cheaper version) of this guitar, and there was a lot I didn’t like about it – the tuning pegs, awkward knob positioning, and the sound was flatter. So after a few weeks of mulling over it, I went back to Long & McQuade and ordered it!!

It was pretty expensive, but I figured it’s more of an investment. So it’ll last me a long time, and I wouldn’t be mad at the little details (if I were to buy the guitar I wasn’t 100% sold on). I’d like to think I’d made a good choice. So far so good!!

4 Responses to My New Baby!!

  1. Liz says:

    She’s a beauty!

Leave a Reply

