Why Is There So Much Gum on The Wall?

Shannon and I went to Seattle on Sunday to get some epic pizza, geocaching, and do some sightseeing. We wandered around the Pike Place Market. It was a really cool place. Really busy though (maybe because it was Sunday).

I’ve been hearing about this “wall of gum” for a while, so we had to check it out. It was pretty gross and at the same time it was also pretty amazing. You couldn’t help but to keep staring at it. So obviously I had to get an HDR picture of it because of all the different colours.

10mm, ISO 200, F4.5

Sweet light!

After all that, we wandered around the different piers and grabbed a couple geocaches.

Unfortunately we didn’t have enough time to check out the sculpture park. Till next time!

389 Responses to Why Is There So Much Gum on The Wall?

  1. Liz says:

    You’re right about the gum…gross, but neat to look at.

  2. Art X Nullality says:

    lovely photos!!

  3. Carlie Chew says:

    Really cool pictures! I saw this wall of gum on the travel channel recently and the host ate a piece of the wall, gross!

  4. Oooh…I think you just gave me a great idea for torturing my germophobe manfriend…the wall of gum is so tempting!

    ;)

  5. Snapshooter says:

    That wall of gum? Nasty. I love the vibrant colors, though. I actually think that last one is my fave. Very simple, but neat perspective. :)

  6. Wonder what insprired someone to start adding onto that wall. “Trend Setting” much?

  7. urbannight says:

    I am not much of a germiphobe. But all I can think of when looking at that wall of gum is, “look at all that bacteria”.

  8. There is a gum wall in San Louis Obispo too.

    • Keither says:

      Are you serious?? Now I wanna go there :D

      • Super serious! It’s a beautiful city, you definitely should go.

      • Keither says:

        Where abouts is San Louis Obispo? And how is it a “beautiful” place?? I’ve been through California once… Went through San Fran, San Jose, Yosemite (which is AMAZING), and Bishop..

        Sigh…. This world is too big to explore…

      • It’s about halfway in between San Jose and Los Angeles. It is quite nice because it has a bit of a “small town” vibe – a lot of cyclists instead of drivers and streets with cafés, concert venues and book stores. I’ve only been once but I had a great time.

  9. natasiarose says:

    Ewwwww that gum wall is cray

  10. Paul says:

    Too bad the cache at the wall is disabled.

  11. Sinead says:

    I don’t want to look but I can’t stop staring at the wall of gum! as gross as it is, it’s kind of impressive how colourful it is

  12. susielindau says:

    I have been there a couple of times and have never seen the gum wall! We are going this summer, (when it dries out a bit) and will check it out! Love Pikes Market!
    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    • Keither says:

      Definitely go check it out! It’s worth seeing it in person. I love that market too, but too bad it’s so busy.

      And thanks! This is my first post that’s ever been Freshly Pressed. So I’m pretty happy about all this. A little overwhelming though :)

  13. jbewing says:

    I may have thrown up in my mouth a little upon looking at the gum wall. It’s hideously beautiful.

  14. I love it!!! Seattle rocks…proud to be a native :)

  15. I’ve seen that wall on an episode of Ghost Adventures once. I’ll never figure out why those walls exist.

  16. niki says:

    That gum wall looks cool! I’ve never seen anything like that :))

  17. molls225 says:

    Your pictures of the gum wall are incredible. So incredible that they made me throw up in my mouth a little!

  18. great post and pics! Gotta love Seattle!

  19. Erin Bohler says:

    I saved all my gum on the inside of my locker in high school. It was pretty gross.

    • Keither says:

      Yeah, that’s pretty sick… What made you do such a thing?! And what did you do with it once you graduated high school? Did the poor janitor have to scrape it off?

      • Erin Bohler says:

        No. I didn’t leave it in there. I was really proud of my creation so I tried to take it with me. It wasn’t as nice after I took it out, so I ended up tossing it. That’s a mighty fine collection on that building.

  20. Sofie Marklund says:

    Gross but a bit cool! Taking littering to a artistic level!

  21. Erieen. says:

    youre right. its quite gross, but i cant help myself to look at those pictures, i imagine if we see it far away it would seem awesome.
    who started it first anyway? *random-thought*

  22. Joe Labriola says:

    Wow, I hope the city doesn’t come to ungum it! Awesome group art!

  23. The gum wall only proves that beauty can be found everywhere, even in what others may refer to as gross. Thank you for sharing this with the WordPress family.

  24. Pretty fascinating and pretty gross! I saw a similar “tree of gum” at Ratanga Junction Theme Park in South Africa, but when I went back there last year it had been cleaned up. Gross, I pity the poor soul who was tasked with that.

  25. i had never heard of this before! mmmh, pretty gross but still quite interesting…

  26. K.B. Ramirez says:

    Nice post. I’ve been to the wall a few times, I’ve left my own on there each time. Had my mom and aunt do the same when they came to visit. Needless to say, hand sanitizer afterwards was a must :)

  27. pezcita says:

    Nice shots – you make me want to go to Seattle. Can’t believe people would actually touch that wall!

  28. This is the best “sight seeing” – the stuff not found in the guidebooks !

  29. beuurrrkkkkkkwhy all these chewing gums???????

    http://www.iveyoungabroad.com

  30. brains says:

    i think people use the word “epic” too much. epic pizza? really?

    • Keither says:

      I think epic is just relative to what everyone thinks. It was definitely the best pizza I’ve ever had, but mind you I usually don’t eat pizza. Sooo to me, it was really good. It’s at a place called Juliano’s.

      I’m sure I haven’t tried any “epic” pizza to your standards. But I’m always up for suggestions! :)

      • brains says:

        epic to me would be found in new york.

      • Keither says:

        Yeah, I haven’t been to New York yet, but it’s on my list of places I really wanna check out!

      • brains says:

        most new yorkers like to say that famous ray’s is the best new york pizza, but i’ve always been partial to ben’s pizza. famous ray’s has several locations around the city, but the last time i checked, ben had one location in the east village section.

      • Keither says:

        Sweet, thanks for the heads up! I’ll definitely keep that in mind when I go check it out

  31. Java Girl says:

    Lol! They have a gum tree in South Street, Philly. The “dripping” gum is what makes me shudder. Eck.

  32. Cool, yet gross. Thanks for sharing.

  33. igiit says:

    How many layers of gum is on that wall?!?!

    • Keither says:

      I’m not sure, but it doesn’t look TOO thick! You should go check it out and let me know!

      • igiit says:

        How am I supposed to find out how many layers there are??? Go up to the wall and start scrapping? O_o Would hate to be the janitor of an establishment if all that gum was on the wall….

  34. I guess you could call all that gum are, but a little ewww too. Congrats on being FP!

  35. Very cool. There is someplace called “bubble gum alley” (per a Judy Moody book) too.

  36. that is so cool!!!!!!!!! that is truly amazing i want to go and buy a lot of packs of gum and put every peice on that walll!

  37. Tess says:

    stunning photos! it is kind of gross when you think about it, but so pretty to look at.

  38. jensine says:

    The colours are quite amazing .. wonder what kind of gum keeps them so well.

  39. Amazing I was just there yesterday taking engagement photos. I’ve lived in Seattle almost three years, work downtown and hang out at the market all the time–just the other side! Can’t believe it took me so long, but I’m glad I finally made it. Great pictures!

  40. Cyrus says:

    I like gum, but this? this is appaling but I can’t stop staring at it its like watching a TV show where people are beaten sensless by machines it you wanna look away but its hilarious! lol XD

  41. 'liya says:

    That is indeed fascinating and disgusting :D

  42. twistnpout says:

    love the gum wall. Funny, I was just going to post my own photos of the gum wall on my blog. We just moved to this area and I think the gum wall is the most unusual site I’ve seen yet. We moved here from Singapore where gum is against the law. After seeing this now I know why.lol

    • Keither says:

      Seattle is definitely a great place for a photographer! There’s just sooooo much art around, it’s awesome! And wow, I never knew gum is illegal in Singapore. That’s really interesting.

  43. sweetmother says:

    awesomely disgusting! i loved it.

  44. Kind of disgusting but so cool at the same time!

  45. vicoropeza says:

    Awesome post and nice wall :D Where I live there was a wall like that but the fire dept went and cleaned it up :/ BTW, the “Public Market Center” sign in the first picture is the default editing picture at Picnik.com ! I’ve seen that sign in lots of pictures but I never knew where it was :P nice post!

    Vic

  46. paintlater says:

    OOoooh. I loved the picture, then went ‘oooooh’, then went ‘wow’, then went ‘uurrh’, then went ‘Want to see it’, then went ‘No, Yuk!’ I am a gum chewer so I’d like to leave my mark so to speak but not sure how I would do this, maybe put it on the end of a stick and wack it on from a distance?Thanks for the photos…I think. Cheers Sue

  47. akwoman says:

    LOL!! It’s like trying not to watch a train wreck…you just can’t look away! Really makes you wonder how, why, who and of course, what the…?
    Congrats on being freshly pressed! Fun post!
    kristine

    • Keither says:

      Thank you for stopping by! It’s my first experience in being Freshly Pressed! So all this traffic is pretty new to me :)

      But yeah, It’s a very interesting sight that’s for sure

  48. Sarah D. says:

    I think I could go to Seattle and miss seeing the gum, but that lighting fixture in picture #6, wow!

    • Keither says:

      I think everyone should go check it out just to say they’ve seen it in person. It’s really disgusting! But at the same time, really crazy and awesome :)

  49. Having grown up in the area, years ago, I put a little wad of history on that wall myself.
    Not near as gross in person as one would think…
    more of a mini-wonder of the world. One never knows what’s around the corner.

  50. johndwm says:

    My favourite is the final reflective doorknocker!!!

  51. Grace says:

    Love the pictures. Seattle and the Pike’s Market area are some of my favorite spots to visit.

  52. Jeff says:

    I don’t know about sticking my gum on the same wall where a million others had shared their spittle….I’d have to stand about ten feet away, spit, and hope it stuck. No, wait a minute, I’d probably launch my upper plate and with my luck, THAT would stick. Wait a minute….I don’t chew gum because I discovered years ago that when it is spent I have to use my Black & Decker drill with a wire brush to get the #$%@% off. Never mind. Carry on……

  53. Wow, that’s a lot of gum. Gross, yet amazing.

  54. Keith Miller says:

    Ahaha! I love this gum wall. But wait, did you ever get to find the answer of why so many people put gum on the walls and what got this trend started? Although I admit it seems pretty gross, I would have came prepared with my won pack of gum, put it all into my mouth and left my mark — love this post! I hope to see more of your great work.

  55. Broken Anonymous says:

    I’ve added a few pieces of gum to that wall myself on my visits to Seattle, I like to think you may have captured it right there in your second picture.
    I believe it was started around 1993 when it was a theater. Theater goers would stick their gum on the wall while waiting to get into the show and well, the tradition stuck (pun intended).
    It’s one of my favorite places to stop when I visit Seattle because there’s so much history in that little alley.

  56. maejane28 says:

    Hey, well capture photos! I would agree that it’s gross to look, yet I was so amazed with the different gum colors on the wall! :-)

  57. The wall of gum might make my stomach turn.

  58. archijeca says:

    gross!!!

    …love the colors though :)

  59. It’s an interesting idea, the gum wall, but I think I’ll stick with white out signatures on the walls of Gino’s East in Chicago!

    • Keither says:

      There’s a wall of white out? Do you have pics of it?? I’d be interested in checking that out

      • Yes, every inch of the walls inside of Gino’s has been written on and whiteout is the media of choice. I’ll post a few pictures of it today.

      • As per your request, I have shaped today’s blog post about Chicago so that I could have a whole section dedicated to the walls of whiteout (and black marker, and paint, and bright ink pens)….So if you want to see the shots of the walls, they are up! Thanks for the inspire! :)

  60. Ayoona says:

    WOW!!!! I’m speechless :D#LOL

  61. Cool! Great photo quality! There is a wall of gum at NCSU but I didn’t know washington had one too!

    • Keither says:

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Where’s NCSU? Or what does that stand for?? I’d like to see some pics of it! And perhaps one day checking it out :)

      • It’s actually sort of a tunnel wall. North Carolina State University. I haven’t been on NC state’s campus in a while, but I remember it from basketball camp! I’m guessing you don’t live in an ACC state ;) , and probably out west all together, but if you are around it in the future it would be fun to compare them!

  62. Shay says:

    Pike Place is ALWAYS busy no matter what time of the week it is. Especially at the Starbucks there because that was the first one, ever! People line up for miles just to get a drink from the original Starbucks. Sometimes, you’re even waiting for hours! I went to the wall of gum, and put my own piece on it, and it is incredibly disgusting. And there are some designs with gum where you sit and wonder if they had lives and how long it must of taken to make those designs. One little picture is a heart with two letters in it. One for the boy and the other for the girl. It was pretty epic.

    • Keither says:

      Yeah it’s pretty crazy there. I don’t really care too much about Starbucks because they’re all over the place and their coffee isn’t that great either :P But I’m sure some people is gonna argue about that.. Oh, I also don’t really drink coffee, but it’s cool to see the first Starbucks though!

      And it’s pretty gross, yet amazing at the same time… It’s weird. I couldn’t believe there’s also a picture of Quagmire from Family Guy on the wall made out of gum!!

  63. Grumpa Joe says:

    That wall is gross, but its the kind of place I’d want to see too.

  64. i was just there this past weekend! the gum wall and pikes market was my fav!

  65. Ewww…icky. Lots of colors…but ewww…icky.

  66. that’s pretty cool! amazing as well

  67. sophie says:

    there’s an amusement park i go to every year and at the top of the log flume i always stick a huge wad of gum. i’m really not sure why as i’m not in the habit of sticking gum in random places. but then when i go back the next year i try to remember which one my old piece was.

  68. wall of gum…imagine that. :-) it’s both amazing and utterly disgusting at the same time.

  69. Denise says:

    The gum wall is a must stop! Did you stick a piece of your own?

  70. mudbug94 says:

    It is gross! But its something you wouldn’t see everyday,unless of course you lived there.

  71. Seasonsgirl says:

    Congrats on being freshly pressed :)

  72. That is unbelievable! Great photos. Thanks for sharing and congrats on being Freshly Pressed :) Cheers!!!

    http://www.diaryofaphatkat.wordpress.com

  73. ninarevenant says:

    Crazy! I’ve only been to the one in San Luis Obispo, CA

  74. starlight says:

    i remember in college, at the end of the hallway near the stairs, the ceiling is covered with balls of chewing gum.. and yes, i contributed some up there, hehe.. its fun snapping the gum from your fingers so it could stick on the ceiling..

  75. neelimanair says:

    creative + gross,wonderfully! :P :) nice blog!~

  76. I had never been to the gum wall, even though I’ve been visiting Seattle for a while now, until this year. It was so gross! :)

  77. Tiara says:

    ewww…i never knew this place existed , but when I goto Seattle I will definitely check it out !

  78. alexissbca says:

    If you ever make it to San Luis Obispo, CA, there’s a gum wall there, too! Nice pictures!

  79. mystiche says:

    Wow! I wanna see this place too!

  80. Cashe Kidd says:

    Wow! This is really gross in a very beautiful way. Like a car accident… you know you shouldn’t but you can’t help but look!
    Awesome!

  81. Great pics, love the gum wall!

  82. I love Seattle. This brings me back to good times… I can proudly say I contributed to the gum wall LOL!

  83. Pingback: The “SLO” Gum Wall « SISTERS: Four Walks of Life

  84. 2bsisters says:

    Reblogged this on SISTERS: Four Walks of Life and commented:
    I luv the gum wall it reminds me of the gum alley in my home town, San Luis Obispo, CA. Yes, it is a bit disgusting if you think about. But it’s also an expression of art that everyone can take part in. Think of it as a “Living Art Piece”

    • Keither says:

      For sure! And I love people who think outside of the box. Definitely a lot cooler when people can actually participate in these kind of things!

  85. I like any post that has decent photos of my city, but these pictures are wonderful. I love our disgusting gum wall. Very nice job capturing it in all its gross/beautiful glory.

  86. shashatwinkle says:

    Wall of Gum?? Sounds cool but looks way beyond gross! Its artistic though,better if clean uneaten gums were used;P

  87. mariamharraz says:

    We had something similar at my university, a massive board full of gum and it was art that people could participate in, also so people could stop throwing their gum on the floor or sticking it on the benches! But of course that wall is much bigger! Love it!

  88. sheznitt says:

    great pics!!! could i borrow your camera??? hehehe..

    • Keither says:

      Haha thank you!! And as for the camera, it doesn’t matter what camera you use… It’s all about the photographer knowing how to use the proper settings. I used to have a cheap point and shoot and was able to take some amazing pictures! But I was fortunate enough to pick up a Canon Rebel XT (yes, it’s an older model). But keep on taking pictures!

  89. Great photos! Gum on a wall.. a bit of a grunty take on Hansel and Gretel I suppose? Appealing in curiosity and used candy!

  90. Where’s your gum?
    I’ve been in the Northwest ages and have not had the pleasure of knowing or seeing this. What’s wrong with me.
    Hey this freshly pressed business is something. Fun eh? Congrats.
    Your 52 week project was really something.

    • Keither says:

      Thank you so much!!
      I didn’t really want to touch that wall. Yeah, this Freshly Pressed thing is quite something! Wasn’t expecting this at all! And thanks about the 52 week project. It was good. It made me go out every week to take pictures. Although some weeks were harder to go out than others, but I’m REALLY happy about how I was able to make it to the end. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

  91. indiraadams says:

    That seems like a great way to spend your Sunday! The gum was is possibly the coolest thing ever. What fascinates me the most is that the gum was stuck on in a certain design. Very neat.

    http://indiraadams.wordpress.com

  92. Mudmap says:

    pretty amazing concept! Did you add top the wall?

  93. The gum wall is a beautifully random work of interactive urban art. You cannot mimic that on canvas. And I wish you had been able to visit the Olympic Sculpture Park, because it is insanely cool and weird, and it has one of the only natural beaches in an American city centre.

    • Keither says:

      I’ve actually been to the sculpture park once and I loved it! But I’m sure if I went to it again I would appreciate it even more than before. It’s great! Perhaps next time :)

  94. neverreadit says:

    Ooh I love these pics-it’s like you’ve taken me on holiday from my office :P My own fella hasn’t even taken me on holiday yet…lol Seriously though nice work, it’s nice to see where other people have wandered off to!

  95. Jonathan W. Gill says:

    Keither! (,)

    Since I’m currently in the military, I’ve gotten to travel to some far places like Japan and now currently, Afghanistan. Fun, but it will be much more so when I can travel *on my own*, heh.

    Looks like you get to see (and photograph) some awesome places. May I ask, for when I get out, how do you get around so much? Have you heard of travel networking initiatives such as Couch Surfing? One option I have been looking into, as well as investing and a career as a teacher (so I can write and travel in the Summer… hopefully with my investment earnings and savings).

    Hope to hear back when you have time, I know you have a lot of comments.

    Peace,

    Jonathan

    • Keither says:

      Hey Jonathan,
      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write a comment.

      I get around a bit by working a seasonal job. I’m actually trying to get out of the routine because I feel like I need to get on with my life. But I also do a lot of Geocaching and rock climbing. I meet a bunch of people who are into this stuff, so we’re always wanting to go explore different places whether it is to climb, or to just hike around. It’s great. You talk to people and they tell you about really cool places.

      I’ve heard good thinks about the website for couch surfing, a few of my friends have done it.

      Hope this helps!

  96. Pingback: What Else Is Out There | The Practice Room

  97. Lonnie says:

    Thanks for pictures of one of my favorite cities.Haven’t been there in over 10 years. Your pictures make me want to get back there.

    Congrats on the freshly pressed.

  98. Rachel Jones says:

    This Wall Of Gum… seems disgusting and horrific, yet quirky and beautiful… my favourite form of art. :)

    Rae

  99. I’ve often wondered what the Pike Place Market looked like and would like to make it there someday. And what a piece of art with all that gum! Thanks for posting these images and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  100. tarapappas says:

    I went to Seattle last spring for the National Art Education Association Conference and got a chance to do a little sight seeing! The “wall of gum” was definitely an interesting cultural phenomenon! It’s very visually appealing, but totally disgusting at the same time. No way I would ever venture adding gum to that wall!

  101. This wall of gum is wonderful. A bad habit looking like shells from the distance.

  102. jorjor373 says:

    I have to agree, very mesmerizing to look at :) Full of tons of color, but once you look at it – it’s quite gross. Lol.

  103. Reblogged this on antimateriablu and commented:
    Sapevate che a Seattle c’è un muro di gomme da masticare? Lo definireste arte?
    E soprattutto, caro lettore: come si chiama la gomma da masticare nel tuo dialetto o slang metropolitano? Qui ciringomma, cinci, cincisbiascica.

  104. Pingback: Friday Fantasy | Indulge: capturing love, life & everything in between

  105. heart2woman says:

    Aaaaaah, gum chewers be going crazy!
    It looks really artistic though.

  106. That is foul. Interesting subject though!

  107. I love Seattle! I’ve never even heard of that massive wall of gum though, I’ll have to check it out the next time I’m there. Great post!

  108. JamieRene says:

    Buddy the Elf would have a field day!! (Ugh…just accidentally grossed myself out with that mental image) Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!! I love Seattle, it’s soothing to get to see awesome pics every once in awhile since it’s a bit of a trek from Dallas =D

    • Keither says:

      Hahahaha totally forgot about that movie! That’s great :) Thank you for your kind words! Hope you can make it out to Seattle soon! It’s heaven for photographers

  109. Anna says:

    Amazing.
    This wall of gum is wonderful.

  110. susanbright says:

    Love the gum pictures! What an unusual work of art!

  111. Yeah, I will have to agree, the gum is pretty icky. Not sure if I would have stared at it for long. Great shots though!

  112. aso127 says:

    This is really a good work. I appreciate your efforts behind that. Have a great day!

  113. introvegirl says:

    That is gross, but intriguing :) Great photos! Thanks for sharing :)

    Congrats on becoming freshly pressed as well!

    Introvegirl

  114. sanjeevkar says:

    Amazing Pictures

  115. Kharma says:

    Wall of gum. How interesting! The colors are phenominal…I can see the “art” in this. I’m sure I would feel differently if I were close enough to touch the gum. Gross.

  116. bercton says:

    the wall of gum gives you two feeling, that is the gross feeling and artistic feeling. Thanks for sharing!

  117. Leslie says:

    What is the reason behind the gum wall tho? Haha i thought it was gonna be related to some “Love-Love” stuff. It looks cool. Pretty awesome *u*

  118. Ramabaktha says:

    That’s pretty nice & I m stunned what a shot man !!!
    Great job.

  119. Mention of geocaching + bright, colorful pictures of a gum wall = awesome blog post.

  120. The-Marnray says:

    I would take a few pieces to take home as a souvenir and a few to snack on for the ride back home, then make my own wall.
    Good post, awesome pictures.

  121. Lyssapants says:

    AAAHHH! I love that place! So full of mouth germs, I couldn’t even stand it! AAAAnd, my partner and I did geocaching in that area as well!!! Maybe you saw our name on logs (TeamKeen)???? Congrats on being FP!!

  122. I must admit, all the gum is disgusting but so interesting at the same time. Hope you don’t mind I shared your post on Twitter. Amazing picture though.
    Thanks
    J

    • Keither says:

      Thank you! And no, I don’t mind at all! Thanks what those “share” links are for! Thanks for tweeting it! The more publicity the better :)

  123. That place is crazy, looks incredible though.

  124. amira says:

    lovely picture of the gum wall. Did you say it’s in washington DC?
    I so would love to see it with my own eyes.
    gross and beautiful at the same time :)
    thanks for the share

  125. Ammon says:

    Yikes, I just vomited in my mouth a little bit. I’m rubbing sanitizer on my hands just from looking at that wall. Yuck, yuck, double-yuck!

  126. interstitial_squirrel says:

    Haha Seattle’s my home town and I live in Boston so it’s nice to see posts about it occasionally! Yeah, the gum wall is pretty gross. It’s so interesting what people will go see; kind of makes me think of the love-locks on the Pont des Arts in Paris.
    Great post. I’ll definitely come check your blog out again.

  127. Megan says:

    The gum walls are by far some of the coolest imagery I have seen. Thanks for sharing!

  128. Being a Seattle native (sort of), the Gum Wall is increasingly becoming a Seattle icon. It makes me wonder if we should create a theme park called “Gum Land”, sort of like “Lego Land” is down in Southern California.

    And huge congrats on getting freshly pressed. It happened to me once last year and I got over 2,000 page views. I thought I was a rock star for a day. :-)

    • Keither says:

      Thank you! Yeah, definitely my first time getting Freshly Pressed. So this is all really new and exciting to me! It seems like people love this, and I wasn’t even expecting it. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  129. Reblogged this on This Kelly Carpenter and commented:
    So proud. Enjoy this reblogged post from someone who definitely knows how work a camera!!

  130. Ick. My kids would love that thing.

  131. Susan Phelps says:

    This Is Amazing An Awesome
    Look At It Gave Me An idea
    An it Started Me ToThink
    That InStead Of Useing
    Mouth Swabes On People
    Or The Other Tests On The Market
    They Should Have Them Chew Gum
    An Then Place It In A Test Tube
    To Save For Future Use
    An The People That Arent Able To Use This Method
    Can Use The Old Standerds
    Of Blood Tests Urine Tests An Swabes Or Test Strips
    Just Something To Think About

    • Susan Phelps says:

      Thank-You For Considering This As A New Method
      To Go Over An Develop In The Futher
      As I Have been on SSI For Manic Depression
      An Would Like To Have A Some Thing More
      In My Life Then A Bed At The Many Phic Hospitals
      That I Have Had To Go To
      Because You Dont
      Understand My Illines
      An Put Me On Meds That Over Medicate Me
      Other Then That Ill Just Be Considered A PoloySubstance Abuser
      That Hasnt Used In 11Yrs April 8Th

  132. The picture seems as if everybody with gum just sticks it to the wall. I wonder if you’re allowed to. :)

  133. maryfollowsthelamb says:

    What I want to know is there someone nearby selling gum? (smiles)

  134. Totally fun day! And the gum wall is cool. Very colorful…but not about to make one at NY house!
    http://tr4f.wordpress.com

  135. That gum wall looks good at a distance. But up close…..YUK!

  136. I wonder what kind of animals live in that sculpture.

  137. A. A.Trivedi says:

    Hello, I have to say, that is pretty fascinating! :)

  138. klrs09 says:

    Disgusting — but cool. Great pics. Congrats on being FP’d.

  139. jishifruit says:

    Nice! I first saw that wall in a Jen Aniston movie, Love Happens but it was shot at night time so it was a surprise to see all the vivid colors! I would have thought all gums turn white after chwing it and it was just food coloring. I must try exported gums. LOL

    Great post! :)

  140. I love the gum wall… what an amazing work of art! (and wonder who started it?)

  141. sunshinestef says:

    Reblogged this on Sunshinestef and commented:
    My nightmare is a reality…a wall of gum!

  142. I live near Seattle. I’ll have to check it out! Great photos.

  143. Ryan Sprout says:

    Thanks for sharing this! Very cool!

  144. tofukiller says:

    The gum thing kind of freaked me out.

  145. jbfotography says:

    I once saw the start of a measly gum wall. It must’ve taken years to create the work of art depicted in your pictures.

  146. Diana says:

    Looks good. A very unique form of art.

  147. emhastings says:

    I’m not sure whether I should be grossed out or intrigued by it’s beauty….

    Either way it’s amazing

  148. just kristy says:

    Where is it? I was just there last week on Thursday and Friday and forgot to find out where/what street it’s on. It was great weather – perfect!

    • Keither says:

      It’s at Pikes Place Market. If you see my first picture, you just go down a flight of stairs that are behind those cars on the left of the picture. I guess you just have to go back there again :)

  149. arunashouse says:

    Nice.. disgustting funny!

  150. Jeffrey Kemp says:

    If that was around here the local council would have it all cleaned up pronto. (determining whether that’s a good thing or not is left as an exercise for the reader)

  151. cheryllme says:

    the wall of gum surely look gross but beautiful pictures all the way :)

  152. The wall of gum would give me a heart attack if I ever saw it in real life.
    I’m seriously tempted to go take a shower now just from one picture of it.
    It’s like a bloodphobic person watching a surgery doco but for OCD cleaning people and a wall of gum.

  153. lovebri808 says:

    Grossly amazing…i like it.

  154. Yote says:

    I hope you didn’t go all that way, and just stare at the wall, without chewing some of it.

  155. triciamaria says:

    WOW!!! I absolutely love the colour in your photos, very vibrant…I just can’t believe that its gum!!

  156. Very fascinating color. Love to see them altogether here. Thanks for sharing buddy.

  157. It’s actually so disgusting, that is almost truly amazing.

  158. Reblogged this on and commented:
    These pictures are amazing!

  159. Ive been there before, and as much as its really gross its also pretty amazing!

  160. Karen says:

    Wow! That is disgustingly beautiful!! Great shots. Thanks for sharing.

  161. Ew! But very amazing! What makes this wall of gum even more interesting, is when you think about how many people put gum on that wall!!!! SO MANY PEOPLE…. Awesome pictures.

  162. I wonder if the first person to put gum on that wall is still around?

  163. I cannot see few photos, I don’t know whats wrong.

  164. When we visited Verona, Italy last year they had a similar gum wall near Romeo & Juliet’s balcony. Only this time people were using gum to stick up lovenotes so you had the addition of fluttering paper over the gum.

  165. NamratazBD says:

    Why IS exactly so much gum there? Its just Eww.. no other words. So just people just come and stick gum in there?

  166. sophiereader says:

    The gum on the wall thing is epic. I like the way the people of the town wrote their names on the wall too. Awesome!!! But, still gross!!! :)

  167. Selvinas says:

    That’s just disgusting! Wouldn’t even want to put my own gum at the wall in fear of accidentally touching someone else’s.
    Do you know how this all began? How many years worth of gum is this?

  168. James Mikkelsen says:

    What is art? I think this fits quite well :)

  169. ginalatte says:

    Ugh! What a site to see, but the experience of seeing it in person.

  170. ginalatte says:

    Yuck! What a site to see, but indeed need to see in person.

  171. Amazing wall o’gum! It looks really tactile (not sure if I would actually touch it however…) and so vibrant – great light in your shots.

  172. herajewels says:

    Wow! Yucky but very colourful..

  173. jojostylee says:

    oooh, there is a wall of gum in Amsterdam too, but its not as gross as this one…this one is epic!

  174. oregonmike98 says:

    Reblogged this on Oregonmike98's Blog and commented:
    reading this blog bring some good memories back of seattle

  175. Sarah Harris says:

    The first shot is the best! I love what careful detail you were able to get! Each vibrant color, you can almost see teeth impressions and can almost smell it! It’s so pretty you almost forget how gross it must be if you’re the owner of the building!

  176. astronautel says:

    Re the Wall: Disgustingly amazing….

  177. angelsail says:

    Great shots! I wonder how many people cussed themselves for swallowing their gum the street before now!

  178. Joanna says:

    As interesting as that wall is .. I would be afraid to get to close in case I trip into it! Lol there use to be a block where there were “gum trees” where I lived. They got rid of those though.

  179. The Gum Wall sort of just happened. It is a great landmark. Locals know where it is. There is a ghost tour that starts at this curious spot. The Gum Wall is not haunted, if you were wondering.

  180. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    I’ve never heard of that! The pictures are awesome but I think it’s super disgusting, lol.

  181. Well, that’s something to chew on!

  182. Great photos. You should enter the gum photo in the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge for this week. The theme is “Arranged.”

  183. Pingback: Why Is There So Much Gum on The Wall? | GLOW (retariayu's blog)

  184. Heh. :) Interactive art is VERY Seattle.

    Susan Schreiber
    susanmschreiber.wordpress.com

  185. I love the gum as art. Interactive & in a strange way beautiful :) Thank you for this

  186. stimpystrut says:

    These gum wall pics are stunning!

  187. tonyscamino says:

    This made me laugh out loud! Great for a sunday morning….. Thankyou!

  188. onionnose says:

    Wierd! yet artistically amazing @.@ hahaha love the photos!

  189. Matt says:

    Looks like someone bit off more then they can chew… sorry its the only joke I could think of… oh wait! Seems like a sticky situation! very nice, post cool pics Sir.

  190. mkodeeart says:

    I wonder who started off this Gum wall tradition?? quite weird and bizarre … but absolutely love it!!!

  191. hbubblesover says:

    Oh yes, the gum wall! I saw it in the movie “Love Happens”.
    Interesting what can be found all over the world. :)

  192. Gum wall: cool and not cool at the same time!
    Great post.

  193. Jerry Bryant says:

    I’ve been meaning to check that wall out! I’m always on the search for epic pizza. Is that the name of the place?

    • Keither says:

      Definitely worth checking it out! And as for the epic pizza, I know it’s not as good as New York pizza, but I haven’t been there yet. But the place is called Juliano’s. It’s pretty good!

  194. SOOOOOOOOOO, TO MUCH GUMS !!

  195. sophiava123 says:

    So crazy! Its almost actually artistically genius in a strange way.

  196. sophiava123 says:

    Reblogged this on somedayonthemoon and commented:
    Awesome

  197. If you go in Verona (Italy) and want to visit the fabulous house of Juliet waiting for her Romeo, you will find the same kind of wall, same colours … Strange of course when you think of all the DNA traces in that :-) !

  198. Free Images
    I just found your blog and want to say thank you! What an enjoyable time looking
    through so many images. Thanks for sharing.

  199. AbbyColinaD says:

    The 10mm, ISO 200, F4.5 looks wonderful.
    Is it a story behind this whole thing? I’m interested in stuff like that, such as the lock fence in Korea/Uruguay/Paris.
    I personally would love to lock a lock (?) in the Korea one…and why not, maybe stick a gum into that nasty and amazing wall.
    Cheers.

  200. photopins says:

    Love your photos! I just came from Seattle and took pictures of the “gum wall” too. So gross yet so interesting how people kept adding gum.. did you contribute? :)

  201. That wall of gum is both fascinatingly beautiful, and kind of gross. Great pictures though!

  202. FEB says:

    Weirdly intriguing, beautifully disgusting. Great post, congrats on FP.

  203. I think there’s another place like that in California, only that it’s on the walls of an entire street. It’s called “Bubble Gum Alley.” You should check it out sometime!

  204. ewww…but kind of unique.. now that’s called art :)

  205. David B says:

    yuck!

  206. Gum wall is awesome and looks super cool in HDR. Great photos.

  207. Kristien Del Ferraro says:

    Don’t know if that’s beautiful or just nasty! :)

  208. Natalie says:

    The SLO wall of gum is also insane! Pretty interesting though.

  209. snajvid says:

    Wow, that wall was both super amazing and yet quite disgusting. Do you have any idea how and why the wall got started?

    Super nice pictures throughout the post (and also, good idea with the HDR)

  210. Reblogged this on anaherahztask and commented:
    Utterly speechless…

  211. abraalani says:

    Could you SMELL the gum? If you get close enough you get a whiff of that sugary sweet smell…
    Where did you go for the “epic pizza”? I recently moved to the area, and would love to try it!

    • Keither says:

      Hahaha I wasn’t paying much attention to the smell :P So I guess I wasn’t able to smell it. But as for really good pizza, go check out Juliano’s.

  212. Arrrghh.. So Yackiiiee!

  213. As a Seattle resident it is a gross but iconic part of the city… Your pictures are fantastic!

  214. fita650 says:

    Reblogged this on fita650 and commented:
    Note to self: Next time in Seattle, MUST VISIT THE WALLL OF GUM=)

  215. Those gum shots are awesome!

  216. Neetika says:

    Amazing! Never seen anything like this before. I think its your great pictures that make the gum wall interesting to look at :)

  217. Ugh, grossss! Are you sure none of them ended up sticking on your lens? B-) Nice coverage!

    • Keither says:

      Hahaha thanks a lot for the comment! I did have to get pretty close to the wall, but I don’t think any pieces decided to come home with me :)

  218. iancailliau says:

    Quite conflicting indeed. Gross unintended art ?

  219. I heard a long time ago that supposedly there’s a tree that’s gummed like this too. Amazing, isn’t it? I just can’t help wondering what the first person was thinking and why the next 10 or 20 people followed. How do those things come about? heheh.

  220. It’s very artistic.. What does the government say about this? It’s kinda cool..

  221. D.R.Sokolowski says:

    Disgustingly Beautiful

  222. Didn’t know there was a gum wall in Seattle! Went to college in San Luis Obispo so definitely know about Bubblegum Alley there!

  223. wonderfull place, a trash can be a beautifull arts

  224. Nicole says:

    All that gum looks so disgusting!

  225. Tina Wina says:

    It’s so gross it’s brilliant!

  226. tipgirl says:

    Oh my gosh, I’ve heard of this place! Did you get gum and stick it on? I bet gum is the #1 bestseller in their grocery stores.

  227. Casa Armida says:

    This is pretty groovy….artsy folks!

  228. AckFast says:

    As gross as the gum on the wall is — it has definitely made an impact. It gave us a reason to take pictures, to be amaze, laugh, and to write our comments. Perhaps from a psychological perspective people do it as a signature piece. To let it be known that they were there! And maybe it might just be another form of intimacy beyond our comprehension, who knows! It would however, be very interesting to know the founder of this wall.

  229. melancholiastudioinc says:

    The gum — eww, yuck. That wall must be crawling with germs. Someone needs to spray a coat of clear polyurethane over it. Wouldn’t be fascinating to do a DNA test on every wad and see if it matches up with America’s Most Wanted?

  230. That is quite interesting and kinda nasty. The odd things of this world.

  231. Bex says:

    bummer. i was in seattle not too long ago, i didnt know about the gum wall. would’ve been to check that out

  232. Reblogged this on naturalfashionista and commented:
    Wow look at all that gum!

  233. troismommy says:

    I have 2 brothers in Seattle and have yet to see the gum.

    However, I’ve seen a wall of gum in San Luis Obispo. I bet there are several around the country, equally compelling and equally gross.

    :)

  234. supportivedetails says:

    Oh my god that wall is amazing! I can’t believe that it is the first time I have ever heard of it… I believe we need one of those in Istanbul, the city where I live…

  235. In Italy there is a place when you can stick padlocks!!!!!!!!!!!!

  236. What model device you took the pictures?

  237. candidcara says:

    Wow, that is pretty nasty but cool at the same time!

  238. ladykolibri says:

    Reblogged this on Lady's Art and commented:
    EIn liebenswerter Blog der unerwartet komische Plätze vorstellt.

  239. Pingback: A Review of 2012 « Where's Keith??

  240. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?

    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m
    not seeing very good gains. If you know of any please share.
    Cheers!

  241. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to
    and you’re just extremely magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  242. meemi.com says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome blog!

  243. tree removal says:

    {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It
    is} pretty worth enough for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In
    my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

  244. Ceiling fans ceiling fans, ceiling fan, ceiling fans with lights are now straightforward to use as there are now wall-mounted and remote switch
    controls in addition to the authentic pulling chain change.
    There are numerous alternatives of mild fixtures to pick out and all of
    them come with trendy and decorative styles. It’s important not to underestimate your ceiling fans.

  245. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and wonderful design.

Leave a Reply

