Rococode with Mike Edel @ Lucky Bar

December 2, 2011. Rococode headlined at Lucky Bar and Mike Edel opened for them. I’ve heard one song from Rococode and I’ve heard about Mike Edel, but never explored much of their music so I had no idea what to expect.

Mike and his band stepped on stage. Once they started playing, I was drawn into the music right away. Their folk/pop sound really clicked. There were really good rhythm changes, melody lines, energy, drumming, wicked bass lines, and dynamic. Oh, and also the occasional banjo which adds a really nice touch to the songs. They just gave a really good vibe where you can’t stop bobbing your head to the music.

By the end of their set, it was sad to see them step off stage because you just wanted to hear more of them. But they really did a great job and the bar for the night was set.

The next band, Rococode. I was pretty excited to see what they have up their sleeves. I’ve only heard one of their songs when they were in the 100.5 Peak Performance Project, and my friend Matty has been raving about them, so they must be good! The smoke machine goes on full blast, and the show begins. They definitely have a very unique sound, and this is where I hate classifying music into genres. They had a really good pop/rock/indie sound. They started out strong and continued throughout the whole night. Song after song you’re being blasted by good stage presence, talented musicians, and a big sound. Laura Smith has such a unique voice which blended in perfectly with the band and the style of music. She lead a couple of songs which is also great to see. They were all up there having a great time and were really tight musically.

Definitely a great night. It’s been TOO long since I’ve been to a concert. So it was amazing. If you want to see higher res of the pictures, click on them, or check out my Flickr at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/keither/sets/72157628323629815/with/6473706741/

Or check out Mike Edel: http://www.mikeedel.com/

And Rococode: http://www.rococode.com/

And I’ve said this many times… GO SUPPORT LOCAL ARTISTS!!!