Carli & Julie Kennedy Live At Butchart Gardens

I checked out Carli and Julie’s concert at Butchart Gardens (luckily I have an annual pass there), and they sure know how to put on a show. Or maybe I’m just biased because I know them…

They’re a country/folk/roots band. Carli (guitar) and Julie (violin) were backed up tonight with a drummer and bassist. And I must say, I usually don’t listen to country music (but I’m still open to it!), and I enjoyed every moment of this. So this is saying a lot about how good they are!


The venue is pretty nice. It’s a band shell outside, and it’s a really chill environment. The show gets better as the sky gets darker and lights are more visible.


They played a bunch of originals from their recent EP, Small Town Stories as well as some older songs and a couple of covers such as “Life is a Highway” and “Girls Just Want To Have Fun”. I must say, they did a great job covering the songs especially with their ability to add their own “sound” to the song – I’m always impressed by that.


I’ve always enjoyed watching these two live because they’re always full of energy, and they’re super talented musicians. Through out the set, they would swap instruments such as to bass, mandolin, or banjo (big fan of multi-talented musicians). All this was also accompanied by their perfect harmonies.

Thanks for the great show!! Here’s a few links you should check out:

More pictures of the show on my Flickr account.

and Carli & Julie Kennedy’s website.

Go support local artists!!! They work super hard!

2 Responses to Carli & Julie Kennedy Live At Butchart Gardens

  1. Liz Crosthwaite says:

    Great pics and sounds like a wonderful night.

  2. Pingback: Carli & Julie Kennedy

Leave a Reply

