The Awesomeness Of The Past Week

Can’t believe it’s almost been a week since the last update. Jeez, I should perhaps stop being so busy…

It’s been a pretty darn good week. A lot has been going on. It was my birthday just over a week ago, and the birthday shenanigans just kept going on throughout the week. Had a total of THREE cakes! One was on my actual birthday when I was over on the Mainland at Shannon’s place. The second one was at the Wednesday night music practice at my church, and the third was on Friday from my friends Brie and Blaine! I feel so blessed seeing all these people care about me. It really means a lot! Thank you all! Much love.

Other than those days of birthdayness, and working Monday – Friday from 9 to 5, I’ve been trying to go rock climbing more often as oppose to going just once a week, and then on Saturday my friend Chad and I did a day of geocaching. We found a total of 27 caches. Probably walked over 5km. So that was pretty awesome. Then on Sunday, me and my folks went on an afternoon trip (see below for the details).

A while ago I subscribed for a rock climbing magazine called Rock & Ice. Last week sometime I finally got my first issue!

Rock & Ice

I had the time to read through it and I must say I’m impressed with it. There’s a lot of really good articles in it such as people’s climbing projects/trips, training tips, cool places to go climbing, etc. The photography in it is pretty awesome too. That was one of the main reasons why I subscribed… But anyways, definitely a good read! Highly recommend checking it out. And now I’m really itching to go outdoor rock climbing… Sigh.

While we’re on the subject of rock climbing, my folks and I decided to do an afternoon road trip up island after church on Sunday. I decided to show my parents Nanaimo River. They said they’ve been there, but they haven’t seen the area where I do my rock climbing.

Just being there and seeing the dry rocks, awesome view, the river, and the bolts didn’t help. But soon I’ll be climbing outdoors… Soon I say!

Afterwards, we went up to Qualicum Beach. It’s so peaceful there. Love the days with long shadows.

I didn’t have my GPS that day, but I had my phone, so I was curious to see if there are any geocaches nearby, and surely enough, there was one! So I showed my folks what geocaching is all about. They found it quite interesting. After wandering around the beach for a bit, we started to head back towards Victoria. The sun was slowly setting, so I told my folks we should check out Piper’s Lagoon in Nanaimo to catch the sunset and the fact they’ve never been there. So we got there and took a few more pics, and I was able to snatch another geocache! Yay!

Such a peaceful place… So this concludes my crazy week/weekend. It’s been good. Stay tuned for more updates (hopefully).

Leave a Reply

