Escape From Victoria

It was my birthday on Saturday, so I decided to have a chill weekend and go to the Mainland to visit a few friends just to keep it low key. I think I’m just too lazy to organize a party… But anyways, I’m sure throughout this week, I’ll be catching up with friends and all that. So I guess it’s gonna be like a birthday week? Sure why not!

So on Friday, I ducked out of work a little early and headed for the ferry.

I’ve always enjoyed ferry rides. It lets me throw on a pair of headphones and just drown in music for an hour and a half. It’s just a good place to chill out and do nothing. It gives me time to think, rest, or do whatever. Yes, I know. I’m weird like that.

My friend Shannon thought it’d be funny to make a “multi-cache”, and the final stage was my birthday present (For those who have no idea what I’m talking about, it’s geocaching. You can check it out right here). So on Friday night once Shannon and Shannon picked me up from the ferry, we had dinner at Wendy’s and then went back to Shannon’s place out in Langley. She made me do the first two stages of this “multi-cache” as they were indoors… Tomorrow, I’ll be tackling the outdoors portion of it.

Saturday – Woke up. Church. Do the rest of the multi-cache. This ended up being a 5 stage multi-cache. The coordinates were a bit off, so it was pretty much a game of hot and cold all around the outside of Shannon’s house. I’m sure everyone had a good laugh about it – watching me wandering around aimlessly trying to find these things. So after being out in the cold for a while, I found them all and it was time to get back inside to warm up and find out where the final stage was. I pieced it together, and played another game of hot and cold only to realize that the final prize was underneath where I slept! Jeez, thanks for that… But anyways, the present ended up being tickets to go see the Vancouver Giants VS Chilliwack Bruins hockey game out at the Prospera Centre in Chilliwack! Fuuun!!

We went geocaching for a bit, then went to the hockey game. It was a good time! Vancouver won 5-1! Yay!

This is what happens when you leave the kids with your camera for a few minutes:

McIvorShannons

Sunday… More hockey! Shannon’s mom got tickets to go see the Canucks Super Skills at Rogers Arena, so she gave me, Shannon, and Matthew (Shannon’s brother) tickets! It was a good time – The Canucks showing off and having fun! First off we had a round of mascot musical chairs. Marty the Marmot was there (mascot of the Victoria Salmon Kings). It was awesome!

Thanks for the amazing weekend! More to come!

Check out more pics of the Vancouver Giants VS Chilliwack Bruins game and the Vancouver Canucks Super Skills.

Leave a Reply

